About Us

My name is Julia. I am a mother of three beautiful girls and one handsome boy. My youngest just turned five in January '13 and my oldest will be fourteen in August '13. I'm also a wife of six years in June '13, though it should be eleven years February '13. Why you ask? Well it's because I've gone and done the wild and crazy thing of marrying the same man twice and of course the love of my life.

For the past five years I have been a Stay At Home Mom. Before becoming a SAHM I worked full time and went to college for my Bachelor's of Science in Accounting. I would love to eventually become a CPA or CMA.

If I could go back and change anything, it would be to have followed through with going to Devry when accepted in '98. What some may not know about me is my love for anything technology and electronics. I would rather purchase a gadget that does more, then to simply get a blender that may do the same thing.

Recently I've become Doug Dillon's Assistant. His knack for writing, Sliding Beneath the Surface, Book I in The St. Augustine Trilogy, had me intrigued from the beginning to end, wanting more and left hanging. We started working together in November '12 and it's been an experience for both of us. One step at a time is all it takes to make your dreams become reality.

In April '13, As You Wish Tours was launched. It's growth in a just over a month has been amazing. This business could not be all that it is without the help from a few amazing people I've grown to love and the awesome hosts that like to participate. Thank you so much Len Phelps and Tina Donnelly, you two are amazing.

I am also a Girl Scout Troop Leader through Girl Scouts of Eastern Oklahoma and have been for four years. Our troop has grown to over 25 girls. This is not done without a lot of help from the parents and other leaders involved, a true blessing.

What else can I say... I love the color purple, enjoy a good movie with the family, read as many books as I can get my hands on. Though I have not always been the avid reader I've turned into the past few years. Not since I was in school, my early teenage years, when I came across R. L. Stine's Fear Street Series.

In addition to reading and blogging – As You Wish Reviews is another blog that launched in December '12. I enjoy roller skating, dancing, whether it's line, two-step, fast paced, I love it all. A game of pool here and there, swimming, a water amusement park, roller coaster park, and the zoo is also fun at times. I like to camp and fish as well. I'll eat anything from American, Italian, Mexican to Chinese is good when it comes to foods I enjoy.

On a more personal note, I love romance, passion, and happily ever after... I grew up watching the chick flick fairy tale movies and swoon over a passionate kiss or a touching heart felt moment, whether in a book, or movie, even in real life. I get butterflies, yes I just said that, over the smallest acts of kindness. A sweet compliment, to calling me darlin' means the world to me. Does this mean I should be telling the world my more personal loves, no but then I wouldn't be putting myself out there if I didn't, right?


My name is Len. My home state is South Carolina and I have lived here my whole life. I met my wonderful husband five years ago and six months later we were married. We have been happily married for four years now. He is an amazing man who loves me unconditionally and makes me smile everyday. I am very blessed to have him and his family in my life. I am a step mother to my husband’s 20 yr old son and 23 yr old daughter. Even though they are not my own children, I accepted them in my life when I married their father. I love them very much. My stepdaughter currently lives in Virginia and my stepson will be leaving to go to boot camp in TX for the Air Force in March.

For the past 2 ½ years, I have been working as a server at a Cracker Barrel Restaurant in my hometown. As a server, I have met and talked to a lot of different people that have come into the restaurant to eat or just to shop in the store at Cracker Barrel.

Even though I read all genre of books, I really enjoy reading more of the paranormal (horror, romance, fantasy, etc.) and YA. I like a lot of authors but I will name a few of my favorites. They are Maggie Shayne, Karen Marie Moning, and DeAnna Kinney. Over the years, my collection of paperback books has grown. I have a few series of books that I haven’t had a chance to read yet but I will get to them soon enough. In 2011, my husband bought me the Ipad 2 for an early birthday/Christmas present. I love it because it has a lot more features than my Nook Color had and lots of applications that I can download. I have both the Kindle & Nook applications. My collection of ebooks is growing and most of them are freebies. I definitely have a lot of reading to do.

In October 2012, a friend of mine sent me an invite to Tabatha Vargo’s Wicked Fate Event on Facebook. I joined the event and had an amazing time. Wicked Fate was my first author/book event that I ever got involved in. I have made a lot of new book and author friends from Tabatha’s event. I was just so amazed at how many people have the same interest that I have in books. Ever since Tabatha’s event I have been receiving a lot of invites to different FB events for different authors and their books. I have enjoyed winning all different swag items, paperback & ebooks from the events and all the awesome giveaways I have entered. The past four months I have gotten very close to a lot of my book and author friends. They are amazing and I love them all.

My first Street Team that I ever got involved in is The Ink Slingers Street Crew. I have been in it since December 2012. I help promote The Ink Slinger Authors (M7 Authors): Trish Marie Dawson, Lindsay Avalon, Kristie Drennin Haigwood, Miranda Stork, Tara Stogner Wood and Caroline Felicity Levy and share their books from Amazon, Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, Pinterest and Twitter. These authors are amazing and I love them very much. The Ink Slingers Authors recently promoted me to be their first Ink Slingers Street Team Leader to help them out with weekly challenges and other tasks. It helps them to have free time to be able to write their books. About 2 months ago I was promoted from Team Leader to an Admin. I am also an Admin to The Ink Slingers Fan Page.

I helped Julia Hendrix hosts Doug Dillon’s St. Augustine Trilogy Tour event. It was an awesome experience and I learned a lot! I am also helping on the St. Augustine Trilogy Fan Page and The St. Augustine Trilogy Group on Goodreads as a moderator.

In January, Julia Hendrix added Tina Donnelly and I to her blog page, As You Wish Reviews to help her out. I haven’t ever blogged before in my life until now. This is my first time ever and I am still in the learning stages of it all. It is an awesome feeling to learn something new. I am now a reader, reviewer and a blogger. I did my first blog post in February 2013 – Treasured Chest by Zrinka Jelic with Julia Hendrix’s help. Since then, I have done a total of five blog posts on my own and have been signing up for a lot of different blog tours. Thanks Julia for giving me this chance of learning something new. I am also helping on the As You Wish Reviews Fan Page and recently on the As You Wish Tours Fan Page.


My name is Tina. I am married to a wonderful man that spoils me and puts up with my huge book obsession. I don't know what I would do without him. I also have the honor of being a mother to 6 handsome sons, ranging in ages 24-16. My family is such a huge part of who I am. They keep life interesting, exciting and sometimes a little crazy. My boys find my "book life" amusing, especially when I talk about my latest book boyfriend or what happened to a character in one of my magical worlds. Their usual comment, accompanied by a smile and eye roll, would be "mom you are such a mega-book nerd." I am more than okay with that. I also have 3 very spoiled daughters, with four legs. Daisy May, my beagle and queen of the house. Lily Lou, my chi-weener and mother of my puppy that always manages to be under my feet, Ivy Sue. As you may have noticed, I have my hands full.

I also work full time as an STNA doing in home care for the elderly. I enjoy my job very much and find it to be rewarding. My clients are so lovable. I do get emotionally attached to many of them, but I think that is what makes my career that much more fulfilling. From as far back as I can remember, I have had a calling to work in the field of geriatrics. Growing up in a small town, I spent most of my time with my elderly neighbors. It felt natural to spend my time listening to stories of "the good old day' while baking some new and delicious dish. I can honestly say that I love my job.

Now where do I find time to read? I don't know, but somehow I fit it in. My favorite genre is paranormal romance, but I am not limited to this. I will read anything from WWII biographies to Harry Potter. I do have a few favorite authors and books that I can't get enough of. BC Morin has written The Kingdom Chronicles with my ever handsome Brennus (book boyfriend), Stephanie Judice's Saga of the Setti (Jeremy makes me laugh, another bb), Peggy Martinez's Contingency (amazing story), Lindsay Avalon's Breaking the Nexus (definitely must reread it) and last but not least David Estes' Evolution Trilogy.


I am currently a moderator on goodreads for David Estes Fans and YA BookLovers Unite. Come visit me at my facebook page Reading For Fun.





I am Gloria Herrera.  My passion is reading books now that I am retired from a rigorous work life drafting and maintaining insurance policy forms and systems.

I belong to several groups on Facebook dedicated to assisting approximately 30 authors beta read, proofread, develop plot lines, promote and review their work. My focus with these groups is to help new and established indie authors refine their manuscripts and promote their work. Also, I belong to various ARC teams for authors, such as Hardt & Soul, Lisa Renee Jones Insiders Group, LARCS, etc.

I normally review contemporary fiction and erotic romance books. My reviews are posted on:

1. Goodreads (url http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/14588166-gloria-herrera) with 1132 books read and reviewed to date,

2. Amazon (URL hhttp://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A2ZU73E6RDADJV/ref=cm_aya_bb_pdp ) with 1700 reviews posted.

I also support authors by designing teasers, banners, ads, etc. at their request.





My name is Cheree aka Dragonmama. I am a stay at home mother of four, three boys and one daughter, and married to my husband of ten years as of July ‘14. We have lived in South Carolina for twelve years now, but one day I hope to go home to my roots in Texas. As an extreme lover of Dragons, I have a huge curio cabinet of dragon collectables and more spread throughout my home. I also have seven tattoos, of those four are Dragons.

I have been blogging for a little over a year now. I co-started Confessions of the Paranormal but decided joining AYWR would benefit myself and those I try to help a lot more. I didn’t used to read very much, the only book I remember reading when I was a kid and liked was The Giver by Lois Lowry. I was always turning my nose up at it as I could never find anything to ignite the passion in me to read, until one day about three years ago, my mom turned me on to Laurel K Hamilton and it was all uphill from there. Once I found my kind of books it was easy to find more, so I would hit the book stores and scout Amazon for more. I was finally able to get myself a Kindle and some of the first freebies' I grabbed were Jennifer Malone Wright’s The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter Pt 1 and Lacey Weatherford’s The Trouble With Spells. Stumbling across a Halloween book event a little over a year ago, I feel in love with the Indie book world and being the person I am, found a way to help so many people that I admire. By blogging, creating book trailers, promo images, and even craft some swag every now and again I do what I can to support as many authors I can.

Umm…lets see…Favorite color is blue. I used to play soccer, tennis and be on a swim team when I was younger. I would rather play sports than watch them, but my body has been beaten up over the years between sports and kids. Since I was a baby, living in TX, I have been a lover of Mexican food. I don’t like Horror movies for the most part but there are a few I like, like Final Destination and Saw (all of them). My sister let me watch Freddie when I was about four years old and well, I have had a complex since.

Ok, I think you know enough about me, now I guess I will have to change my name and move to a more secluded location to avoid all you stalkers. Lol


My name is Sarah. I am a mother of 3 crazy kids Eddie age 7, Izabella age 5 and Katarina age 4 and have been married to my husband for 10 years May 2014. We are currently a military family stationed at Fort Drum, NY and will be leaving the active military world this July and moving to the south (destination to be determined yet) Since meeting my husband we have been to Virginia, Florida, Alaska and now Up State NY. It has been an adventure but I am ready to settle in one area. I am a Dog person who will adopt a dog in need of a home more often than I would go to a breeder. Though my Gentle Giant of a Saint Bernard was a gift for mother’s day and we all went to the breeder to pick him out!

I have recently joined the blogging world thanks to the amazing Julia Hendrix inviting me to join her and this awesome team of ladies at As You Wish Reviews. I have been working with Melissa Andrea as her assistant for about a year now, and reading daily for almost 2 years !

When I was a little girl I was addicted to reading mostly The Babysitters Club books and then a bit more YA Romance when I came across it then life took control and I stopped reading for TOO LONG. About 4 years ago my brother passed away very suddenly and in a daze I rushed back to Maine from Alaska and became a girl who moved through the motions of life. When I came home on the plane they played Twilight as their feature movie and at this point I had heard my friends rave about it and the books so when I got home the first thing I did was pick up the book and 2 weeks later I had the series read. This was my escape and my therapy, about a year or two after that I got the kindle app on my phone and here starts the daily obsession of reading! I picked up a freebie of Jenn Stearling’s Chance Encounters and loved it. I had just discovered the indie book world.

I later met Derinda Love online during one of her adopt an author programs and got to talking to her, doing reviews for her when an author needed some extra love and this is where my love started of working with the authors or to pimp them out for their excellent works of art. Through Derinda is how I met Melissa when I adopted her and then one thing lead to another and I started to work with her on a regular basis and become her assistant.

1 year ago I FINALLY got a Kindle Fire and could stop reading on my little itty bitty phone screen!!!

I love this Book World, I love to show my support for authors and I absolutely love to read!


1 comment:

  1. Julia - I remember you reading Fear Street! Saw one at a thrift store weeks ago and thought of you :)

    ReplyDelete

Recent Giveaways

ShareThis